Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Patanjal Yogadarshan

I recently read a very intuitive and scientific book written by Dr. P.V.Vartak -"Patanjal Yog - Vidnyananishtha Nirupan" (Scientific explanation)

Dr. Vartak has explained the Yoga Sutras (threads) in a very scientific language in Marathi with real life examples. He has also established the date of Patanjali as around 5000 BC from reference of Brihadaranyaka Upanishad.

Patnjali was an authority on Yoga and had written way to enlightenment through Yoga (Yoga darshan - vision of Yoga). The Yoga system of Patanjali or the ancient Hindu doctrine of concentration of mind, ways to achieve it, are called Yoga-sutras, of Patanjali.

The Yoga Sutras consist of four chapters (called padas - Pada means 1/4th) :-
1. Samadhi Pada
2. Sadhana Pada
3. Vibhuti Pada
4. Kaivalya Pada

- Samadhi refers to a blissful state where the yogi is absorbed into the One.

- Sadhana is the Sanskrit word for "practice" or "discipline". The author explains karma yoga and ashtaanga yoga.

- Vibhuti is the Sanskrit word for "power" or "manifestation". 'Supra-normal powers' (Sanskrit: siddhi) are acquired by the practice of yoga. e.g. becoming invisible, travelling with a speed much more than a speed of light, reading minds, enter into foreign bodies (parakaya pravesh), etc.

- Kaivalya literally means "isolation", but stands for emancipation, liberation and used interchangeably with moksha (liberation), which is the goal of Yoga.

Here is the link for whoever is interested in reading Patanjal Yogasutras -

But only reading would not help, every one needs to practice this as it is a practical knowledge !

Really great work done by Dr. Vartak ! Hats off to him for bringing this true ancient knoweldge in a very simple and heart touching language !

No comments:

Post a Comment